How to improve American Idol

American IdolAfter sitting on my couch for seven weeks now watching American Idol I have come to some realizations and suggestions for this show. 

The biggest of all my realizations is that someone needs to break out that multi-purpose duck tape, tear off a piece, and stick it on the mouth of Paula Abdul.  God, she is driving me nuts!!!  I have now watched American Idol for two years and I have yet to hear anything insightful from Paula on any of here judgments.  So, what does she bring to the show?  Well, you got me…So my suggestion is more Simon and much less Paula.

Enough with my Paula rant.  The thing that I have noticed from all the contestants (men and women) is that their music choices are a bit safe and well…boring.  None of the songs make me want to get off my couch and dance with my twins.  So, I have few suggestions that I think that can propel Idol to the next level.  

First, let’s move from themes that focus around decades and instead make the themes around music style.  For instance, metal night…YEAH!   All right “dawg” as Randy would say, let the contestant’s belt out some either Ozzy, Guns n’ Rose, Metallica, and Cinderella to name a few for Metal night.  Okay, if not Metal how about Punk – Sex Pistols, Ramones, The Clash, etc.  We could also do the Blues – B.B. King, Clapton, Robert Johnson, Buddy Guy, John Lee Hooker, etc or the Rat Pack.  You get the picture.  Wouldn’t that be such a better show?

The second thing I would do is pick out interesting songs if I have to use decades as themes.  Let’s take this week’s theme – The Seventies.  Most of the songs I am listening tonight are boring.  Before I get beat up with that bored statement, I will say there were one or two which were good, but the rest lack any oomph…what I mean is that none of the team got my foot tapping and my soul into the song.  So, I have come up with 10 songs that I think the contestants should sing to make the night fun, interesting, and unforgettable.

(in no particular order)

  1. Stairway to Heaven – Led Zeppelin
  2. War – Edwin Star
  3. Kung Fu Fighting – Carl Douglas
  4. My Ding A Ling – Chuck Berry
  5. Dancing Queen – Abba
  6. American Woman – The Guess Who
  7. Iron Man – Black Sabbath
  8. Margaritaville – Jimmy Buffett
  9. Freebird – Lynyrd Skynyrd
  10. Bat out of Hell – Meat Loaf
4 responses to “How to improve American Idol

  1. I have just watched the last 2 weeks of the most boring Idol in 6 years! Two weeks of the Beatles ick! The judges should go back and listen to their own comments. Boring-Pitchy-Not your best performance, come on it is the Beatles. Next it will probabably be Barry Manilow night , use decades-type of Music, not artists.

  2. Pam,

    I would agree…this is the most boring Idol in years. I can not tell that it the music choices are poor or that several contestants have already been anointed as winner so the surprise of Idol has be quelled. I will have to admit that the 1st week of Beatles was not bad, but last night was just plain awful. I love the Beatles and boy, my stomach just groaned when the show ended…what ever happened to the mentors that Ryan announced two weeks ago that were supposed to be on this weeks show? I wonder…

  3. One way to improve Idol is to eliminate obnoxious contestants from the minute they hit the gate. This year’s Nate Marshall is an excellent case in point. There are ten’s of twenty-year olds in my small town who would be a much better replacement.

  4. To whom it may concern

    This week, for an opening on American Idol,
    have TAna crying in a corner with full camera,
    she stops crying and turning straight into the
    camera with her arms outstreted says “Welcome
    to AMERICAN IDOL”. This being a take-off of
    Steve Martin on Saturday Night Live”!! Then,
    of course, Ryan Seacrest would take over.

    I think it would bring down the house and
    launch TAna into her acting career!!

    An avid fan of American Idol.

    Ron Lockhart

Leave a Reply

